What Do I Recap Next?

Since I’ve dropped my Fire and Thorns recaps, it’s time to vote on what I’ll recap next! (Well, other than Avalon: Shadow Warrior, whenever that comes out.) I’ve compiled a list of possible recap bait, mostly books I’ve read while recapping Fire and Thorns. There are some repeats from the last list of recap bait, but with all new commentary.

The long list is after the cut. As before, you’re welcome to make contributions in the comments. Remember, I prefer fantasy / sci-fi with 50% female POV characters or more. This time I’m actually adding a voting prompt at the end so we can accurately tally up votes.

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake
Commitment: Three books (two unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Someone plopped the characters from The Iliad in the modern day.
Summary: The Greek gods are dying cruel and unusual deaths. Some deal with it by going mad. Others try to find a cure. And reincarnated Greek heroes are involved in this somehow.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of links to mythology sites. Hopefully an excuse to post this lovely image of Hercules giving a thumbs-up. Trigger warnings for how the reincarnated heroes remember their pasts.

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
Commitment: Four books, three novellas
Reminds Me Of: Steampunk-lite X-Men in London.
Summary: A girl with a Jekyll-and-Hyde split personality encounters a young duke and his differently-abled friends. They fight crime. Kinda.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Me wondering why all the classic literature from the late 1800s still exists in this setting. And other musings on how history would change with the invention of motorcycles, airships, cell phone-esque telegraphs, and other strange devices decades before they were invented in real life. Oh, and X-Men references galore.

Death Sworn by Leah Cypess
Commitment: Two books (one unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: I actually don’t have anything to compare this to at the moment.
Summary: A teenage girl with fading magic powers is sent to a cave full of assassins to a) teach them magic, and b) solve a murder mystery. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of pictures of caves.

Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano
Commitment: Three books (two unreleased), one novella (unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Bioshock Infinite meets The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword meets Final Fantasy VII.
Summary: A girl living in a floating city discovers a group of people determined to escape to the surface.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of images from the aforementioned video games.

Foretold by Rinda Elliott
Commitment: Three books (two unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Somebody read a lot of Thor comics.
Summary: The reincarnations of the Norns have to find their Designated Love Interests three reincarnations of Norse gods in order to stop Ragnarok. Oh, and one of the Norns is destined to be killed by one of those gods.
What to Expect from My Recaps: All of the Thor references! And some epic Rune Fail.

Dreamwalker by C.S. Friedman
Commitment: At least one book
Reminds Me Of: That stupid story I wrote.
Summary: A girl’s brother is kidnapped by people from a parallel world. She gathers a party and ventures forth to a parallel Earth where guilds regulate interdimensional travel. Oh, and dreaming about the nature of the universe is a Bad Thing.
What to Expect from My Recaps: I have no idea, actually. Maybe Stargate references?

Eon by Alison Goodman
Commitment: Two books
Reminds Me Of: Asian-flavored Song of the Lioness.
Summary: Crippled girl disguises herself as a boy in order to become the host of an elemental dragon spirit. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Translations of names into Chinese. Lots of LGBTQ discussion.

Spellcaster by Claudia Gray
Commitment: Three books (one unreleased), one novella
Reminds Me Of: Wow, this is a tough one. Not sure about this….
Summary: A young witch moves to a sleepy New England town. Unfortunately, said town is home to a sorceress bent on releasing an eldritch abomination.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Me wondering why there’s an actual authentic Mexican restaurant in this sleepy New England town.

When We Wake by Karen Healey
Commitment: Two books
Reminds Me Of: Almost any work of fiction in which a cryogenically frozen person wakes up in the future.
Summary: An Australian girl is rezzed from cold storage after a hundred years. High school hijinks and a government conspiracy ensue.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Some very obvious Captain America and Doctor Who references. Lots of Beatles audio clips. Some LGBTQ discussion.

Katya’s World by Jonathan L. Howard
Commitment: Two books, maybe more?
Reminds Me Of: The Hunt for Red October … IN SPACE!
Summary: A young girl on a Russian-colonized ocean planet encounters a relic from an interstellar war. Hilarity ensues.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Me not pissed off by the Russian transliterations! Me translating terms into Russian or English! My weird obsession with most things Russian!

The Blessed Precious Blood by Tonya Hurley
Commitment: Three books (one unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Someone’s horrible idea to combine Catholic saints with magical girls. Or a Jodorowsky movie, with all the crazy imagery but none of the meaning.
Summary: Three girls learn that they may be the reincarnations of saints. Ultraviolence ensues.
What to Expect from My Recaps: So many trigger warnings that I might only post the recaps on Tumblr (tag: AVALON ARCHIVE AFTER MIDNITE). Lots of Relax-o-Vision. Me pissed off at bad Latin translations. Plot holes! Videos from Soul Calibur games! A spotlight on my Catholic upbringing! All of the Sebastian Stan pics! (Hey, that’s what happens when you name a dark and mysterious character “Sebastian”.) And lots of music videos, because this is kinda-sorta a musical.

Control by Lydia Kang
Commitment: Two books (one unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: X-Men.
Summary: A girl teams up with a group of mutants after her father is killed and her sister is kidnapped by a rival group of mutants.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of X-Men references. And lots of Colin Kaepernick images, for some reason.

In the After by Demitria Lunetta
Commitment: Two books
Reminds Me Of: Fallout, but with aliens instead of nukes.
Summary: A girl and a toddler try to survive after an alien invasion decimates mankind. Things get complicated when they are picked up by another group of survivors.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Kinda spoileriffic, but expect a Soylent Green clip.

The Falconer by Elizabeth May
Commitment: Two books, maybe more?
Reminds Me Of: Um, this one may be tough….
Summary: A girl in 1840s Scotland hunts fairies. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Translations of Scottish Gaelic words! Me complaining about Google Translate’s lack of Scottish Gaelic support!

Maid of Secrets by Jennifer McGowan
Commitment: Two books (maybe more), one novella
Reminds Me Of: Light spy thriller in Elizabethan England.
Summary: Queen Elizabeth’s handmaidens are spies! They fight crime.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Me speculating if one of the girls actually has magical powers.

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
Commitment: Three books, one novella
Reminds Me Of: Lost, without the island.
Summary: A girl who has never been reincarnated is born in a world where every human is reincarnated. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Dragon Ball and Adventure Time references galore.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
Commitment: Three books (two unreleased), two novellas (one unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Return to Oz meets Borderlands.
Summary: Dorothy returns to Oz and rules the land with an iron fist. It’s up to another girl from Kansas to save everyone.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of Oz references. Some seriously offensive stuff in the first chapter’s recap. And, surprisingly, a few Winter Soldier or Fullmetal Alchemist references. (Hey, I haven’t decided which guy with a metal arm to mention yet!)

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
Commitment: Three books, a few short stories that I have to hunt down
Reminds Me Of: Brave New World meets Lost meets Alien meets Avatar.
Summary: A girl on a voyage to Alpha Centauri wakes up from cold storage decades earlier than she’s supposed to. Epic conspiracy ensues.
What to Expect from My Recaps: An increasing amount of sci-fi references as the series progresses.

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Commitment: Three books, two novellas
Reminds Me Of: Fallout meets Waterworld.
Summary: A Vault Dweller and a tribal guy try to find love and a safe haven from electromagnetic storms. This is not as awesome as I make it out to be.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Lots of Fallout references. Comparisons to Fallout 2 and Fallout 3. Complaints about the lack of ruins from the pre-electrical storm era. Me pissed off at the entire last book.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
Commitment: Three books (two unreleased), one short story
Reminds Me Of: Spartacus, kinda? Except he succeeds?
Summary: A girl buys a slave. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Complaints about the writing style.

Disruption by Jessica Shirvington
Commitment: Two books (one released)
Reminds Me Of: Crap. I had a comparison on deck, and it kinda went *poof*.
Summary: A girl blackmails a rich boy into helping her find her disappeared dad. Things get complicated.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Me complaining at how the American characters are portrayed. (The author is Australian, BTW.)

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Commitment: Three books, one novella
Reminds Me Of: This one defies categorization.
Summary: A story about a strange girl who collects teeth for a demon. Or a story about star-crossed lovers. Or a story about a never-ending war. Or a story about an extradimensional alien invasion. Or a story about an adventuring party who attempted to map out the multiverse. Or a story about a society that devotes their life to preventing the apocalypse. Or a story about heroes from three parallel worlds who banded together to defeat the Annihilation Wave and became gods. It’s not as complicated as I made it out to be.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Bad drawing attempts.

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Commitment: Two books, maybe more?
Reminds Me Of: YA La Jetee or Twelve Monkeys (which are basically the same movie).
Summary: A pair of time travelers go back in time to prevent a Bad Future. One problem: they have to kill their childhood friend.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Just about every single time travel reference ever.

Spirit Animals by various authors
Commitment: Eight books (five unreleased)
Reminds Me Of: Avalon: Web of Magic, without the jewels.
Summary: Four kids bond with the reincarnations of godlike animals. They try to collect McGuffins before a conqueror from not!Australia takes over the world.
What to Expect from My Recaps: Complaints on varying writing quality and lack of character development. Disbelief at what the McGuffins do. Me wondering why Australia is evil.

If you have any books you’d like me to recap, please mention them in the comments, and I’ll add them to the list and the poll. If you want to vote, use the handy poll below. You’re allowed to choose up to three books. Voting ends on 4 July at 11:59 PM PDT.

12 comments

  1. I have no strong preference but can give Stormy opinions on the ones I’ve read. Girl in the Steel Corset was delightful but suffers clunky sentence structure. (caused by first-book-itis; it improves in the sequels) Those were fun light reading. Perfect Ruin underwhelmed after the author’s previous series made it to my “must buy this” list. Never Sky was just another YA dystopia, a fun read but not standout from the many other YA dystopias. Though it didn’t stand out as awful either, as some of them do.

    Some of the others you listed I will now put on hold at the library since they sound interesting.

    I still think you should do Unicorns of Balinor since it’s semi-Jewel-Riders-ish.

    And if you have an obsession with things Russian-ish, pick up “Shadow and Bone” by Leigh Bardugo. For it is Russian-ish and very cool.

    1. I had that same problem with Girl in the Steel Corset. Currently I’m reading the final book in that series and … well, the sentence structure is better, but the book feels like two novellas squished together to form a full-length novel. It’s kinda disjointed.

      I actually liked how understated Perfect Ruin was, but that’s probably because I was playing Bioshock Infinite at the time.

      Under the Never Sky had some promise as a weird mashup of Fallout and Skyrim (sans dragons), but the author dropped the ball on the final book IMHO. Characters spent too much time holding the idiot ball, and I wanted more fun in the “safe place” they found.

      Unicorns of Balinor and Shadow and Bone will go on the list after I check them out. The latter has been on my to-read list for a while. Any excuse to mention Russian stuff is awesome ^_^

  2. Hey, did you guys just drop these Jewel Riders recaps altogether?

    Also, whatever happened to all these scripts and storyboards etc? It’s been nearly 2 months since the last thing was posted and I can’t even get any response from Ry – which is just how my contact ended, with no more replies quite of all of sudden. I don’t even know should I just keep waiting or what, I tried to contact him about it and I was just ignored 100%. Quite a bummer.

    1. I haven’t dropped Jewel Riders recaps — I’ve just been busy and haven’t been able to get around to them. They may come back in July once I’m done moving.

      Not sure what’s up with Ry. I haven’t heard from him in a while.

  3. The Giver by Lois Lowry, Variant by Robison Wells, both about boys, but extremely good. Legend by Marie Lu, Cinder by Marrisa Meyer, The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau, also very good books (about girls).

    1. I had to read The Giver in 7th grade, and I have no intention to recap anything I was required to read for school.

      The other books I’ll add to the list after checking them out.

      1. I loved Cinder. But I knew the author shares my rabid Sailor Moon fannishness before I picked it up, so I was totally primed to love it and thus my opinion may not be trustworthy.

        Wretched school, ruining otherwise worthwhile books by forcing them on people! But I guess they gotta force stuff on people so the not-naturally-a-reader segment of the population will read.

  4. Aw, I missed this one. Many of these sound really fun and were unknown to me. I want to read Spellcaster now since I like fantasy and horror involving New England. I tried to read Eon once but found it so dull that I forgot everything about it, but now I wish I stuck to it if it discusses LGBTQ themes. I’m curious about the offensive content of the Dorothy Must Die recap.

    Too late to recommend anything, but I probably would have tried again for Skary Childrin and the Carousel of Sorrow by Katy Towell and for something new Amber and the Hidden City by Milton Davis. I liked Amber for having an African-American heroine traveling to a magical African city, but oh was the Kindle edition badly formatted. There were mistakes every other page or so.

    1. If you go on the Tumblr you can find my rant on Dorothy Must Die. The offensive content includes a protagonist being beat up by a pregnant teenager — and we’re supposed to root for the protagonist.

      I’ll try to check out the other books at some point.

      1. That would be great. I hope you enjoy them if you do (or if not come up with some great rants about them).

        OK, reading your mini rants and…a protagonist who gets suspended from school for fist fights with pregnant girls, a mother who supports this behavior, and a breast-enhancing tank top. I need to read this book now. Those aren’t what I expect when I hear “young adult book”.

        Deep Blue sounds fun. I love mermaids and wanted more adventure fiction regarding them (I kind of want to publish a book about an alien mermaid that’s all New Age and such).

        1. Deep Blue was surprisingly good. It’s totally going to be recap bait next time I make one of these polls.

          And agreed thatDorothy Must Die was shockingly graphic and violent for a YA book. Just … *shudder*

          1. TV Tropes claims that “young adult” can go up to 21, so maybe that’s the age this book was going for.

            It might have my vote then!

Leave a Reply

