Weekend Talk Among Yourselves

Welcome to Weekend Talk Among Yourselves, where I talk about behind-the-scenes stuff and things that have nothing to do about Avalon or whatever I’m recapping, and you can comment with whatever you want.

Here’s what’s happening on my end:

* Sigh. This is one of those weeks where I don’t have a lot to talk about. It’s mostly me ranting about books.

* I think I may have found a candidate for new recap bait. Antigoddess is the story of Greek gods trying to do whatever they can to prevent their slow, agonizing deaths. Unfortunately, preventing their deaths involves killing one another and finding the reincarnations of Main Characters from The Iliad, because reasons. It’s the first part of a trilogy, and I kind of enjoyed reading it. The only knock against it is that it’s quite violent — especially the method by which the reincarnated Trojan War heroes remember their past lives. Oh, and for some reason all the gods (with the exception of Hera, Demeter, and Poseidon) are teenagers. And there’s lots of product placement.

* Also up for new recap bait: Perfect Ruin, which is basically Bioshock Infinite meets The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword. And before you go, “Hey, both those games involve cities floating in the sky!” I’ll let you know that it takes the aesthetics of the former, the exploration of the surface world from the latter, the city plans of Midgar from Final Fantasy VII, and adds a murder mystery and a government conspiracy. Again, this is also the first part of a trilogy, so who knows if my little comparison remains valid by the end.

10 comments

  1. Dang, I totally had an idea a while ago for a book about teenage gods. I guess it’s just one of the many times when ‘it’s been done’ haha. Oh well.

  2. I think Antigoddess would be cool, but I’m kind of tired of people portraying Athena as a teenage girl. If you check greek mythology it says Athena was born full grown dressed in full battle armor, she never was a teenager.
    That’s why I love Percy Jackson so much, it never gets things like that wrong. Plus in Percy a Jackson they’re heroic, believable, not YA love crazy, demigods, wich is from greek myths, so they’re not just idiots that are the product of a 21 year old woman who watches too many soap operas.
    People take mythology and make it stupid a lot. I mean, I’ve loved greek myths since I was like 2, and with every new greek myths series I see come out, I lose about 5% of my interest in it. It’s been done too much.
    But you know what hasn’t been done too much, Chinese mythology, I tried to make a series about that once but then I realized that I’d have to do research. I’ve learned a lot of myths just from reading Rick Riotdan novels, but I didn’t think that to write one like that, you’d have to spend forever researching!
    I think Perfect Ruin would be like 5 times better than Antigoddess, just because it’s more original. I love the idea of a place in the sky, it reminds me of Sky High, who’s seen that movie?! ^~^ you should watch it, it’s amazing! Anyway, I love how someone is bringing fantasy back, slowly, but bringing it back. I can’t be the only one who’s noticed how fantasy is dying away slowly. What was started with Harry Potter, was ended when The Hunger Games movie came out. Now everything is dystopian! This book is kind of both, wich is new, and cool. I love new things.
    Also, why is it you have to go back to 2005 to find the good books? Hardly anyone makes them anymore. Barnes and Nobles discontinued them a while ago. (The one here by my house doesn’t sell Avalon, shame on them!) I go to my indie bookstore to find good ones. But don’t see why it’s so hard to find them.

    1. Perfect Ruin was definitely better than Antigoddess, especially since I was tired of reading about Greek gods that looked like they stepped out of an Abercrombie catalog. I also liked how it wasn’t OPPRESSIVE DYSTOPIAN FUNTIME ALL THE TIME.

      I still think that the author had recently played Bioshock Infinite and went, “Hey! I should write a book that takes place in a floating city, but take out all the 1890s American ultra-patriotism, the racism, and the [spoiler!] quantum physics stuff, and replace the Christian stuff with a fantasy religion!”

      Don’t worry, there’s still some good books out there from post-2005. It just takes a lot of searching to find them. Usually you have to wait 10 years before all the good stuff surfaces.

      1. Yes, oppressive dystopian funtime is really getting to me. >_> A serious book? Sure. Nothing BUT serious books? Come on! T_T

  3. The Hunger Games did NOT start the Dystopian trend! Oh man, the Hunger Games is such an (accidental) rip off of other books. (Battle Royal, anyone?). Aaaaaand Harry Potter didn’t start the Fantasy trend. What Harry Potter DID start was the young-adult/children’s novel trend. Because before Harry Potter it was very hard to get a children’s book published. But no, there is so much fantasy out there that’s been around since waaaaaaay before Harry Potter (Lord of the Rings? But I mean, no one wants to read Lord of the Rings when they’re a teenager. I know that feel. I know that feel so bad >.>)

    1. Harry Potter also started the trend of people my age reading children’s / YA books. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not. But I remember that when I was in college, I knew a lot of people who were still reading Harry Potter and proudly displayed the books in their dorms or apartments.

      1. I think it is a good thing. I read YA novels too. I think that there’s some great children’s media out there (animation is like, my favourite thing) and I think that there’s less boundaries in YA writing. I know people who are pretty snooty about their book (someone told me that Lord of the Rings is a children’s book because it’s fantasy [this was meant as an insult]. Have you read Lord of the Rings? I have and it’s super dry and difficult and the first book is not a fun time. I tried to read it when I was a kid and I couldn’t because IT IS NOT A CHILDREN’S BOOK. It’s way too hard) but in YA novels you can do so much more without people being so stuck up because “Adult books aren’t supposed to be fantasy”

        (also wtf who thinks this way?)

        1. I have a friend who reads Lord of the Rings, but she’s a really advanced reader, she probably can comprehend better than some adults, I’m no where near that level, and when I tried to read it, I got lost on the first sentence. Just because a book is fantasy, doesn’t mean it’s not for adults. Do they know how many adults love YA books because adult books are lame? Apparently not. I’m only a kid, but I’m sure that when I’m an adult, I’ll still be reading YA books. I mean, one of the staff members at my school asked to borrow Riordan’s new book from me when I got got it 2 weeks early.

    2. I didn’t mean The Hunger Games started the dystopian trend, but it sure made it’s mark as the most popular dystopian. And if you don’t believe Harry Potter started the fantasy trend, then yes it made it extremely popular for young people. I’m not defending either, I’m not allowed to read The Hunger Games (I’m a sixth grader), and I don’t like Harry Potter, but they are sure some of the most popular books of our generation.

Leave a Reply

