Weekend Talk Among Yourselves

Welcome to Weekend Talk Among Yourselves, where I talk about behind-the-scenes stuff and things that have nothing to do about Avalon or whatever I’m recapping, and you can comment with whatever you want.

Here’s what’s happening on my end:

* Shameless plug time.

* Sorry for posting my Jewel Riders recap late this week. I was vacationing outside Boston and didn’t bring my laptop with me. We’ll be back to our usual recap schedule next week.

* I managed to get a copy of The Bitter Kingdom this week. Here are things I’m willing to spoil:

  • One of my batshit-insane theories is actually correct, and is a major plot point. Now you get to guess which of my theories is right!
  • The Italian cover for the first book is actually accurate.
  • The real purpose of a Chosen One is definitely not a Good Thing.
  • Elisa’s service to God is rather underwhelming, unless you can see the future or something.
  • We’ve already met the “final bosses” of this series. Guess who they are in the comments if you want.
  • The series actually has a satisfying ending, and a decent romantic subplot. Guess who wins the love polygon if you want. (Mega spoiler: the polygon is actually solved in the second book, but there’s some good development in the last volume. Not that I care about romance or anything. It’s usually my least favorite aspect of YA books.)
  • We don’t learn anything new about Lengua Classica. (There goes all my fantasy conlang reconstruction dreams!)

Got anything you want to talk about? Post it in the comments!

9 comments

      1. The slider isn’t a slider anymore, it’s just three pictures with read more things under them, and when I tried to change the featured article, it just didn’t show up, so I haven’t updated it yet. I don’t know what’s wrong, but maybe it’s just my iPad. I was hoping you knew something, but I’ll try to fix it.

      1. It’s not so much as Elisa gets a fancy sword, as it is Elisa uses offensive weapons to channel her magic when casting spells. Basically, she uses daggers to throw fireballs all over the place.

    1. Here are the crazy theories so far:

      * Humanity colonized a distant planet, where this series takes place.
      * Humanity returns to a post-apocalyptic Earth (either from space or from fallout shelters).

      One of those two theories is strongly suggested to be correct. I can’t go into too much detail, though, because that’s super spoilers.

Leave a Reply

